42091 McKenzie Hwy. | Springfield, OR 97478
Established in 1925 800-507-9889

Guest Reviews


TripAdvisor
Helfrich Outfitter TripAdvisor Reviews


5 of 5 starsReviewed December 8, 2013
We did the Middle Fork trip with Helfrich in 2012 and enoyed it so much, we signed up to do it again in 2013. There is not one thing--not ONE--that I can possibly think of that Helfrich could do to make this a better trip. From help booking the trip (Sherill & Ken), to our orientation in Stanley, to the trip itself (accomodations, food, guides, cultural information), this is THE BEST trip and outfitter you could possibly ask for. Wait until you fall asleep in your cozy tent--errected by someone wonderful on Ken and Kelsey's crew--and wake up to Eggs Benedict that rivals that from any fancy restaurant. The guides will go out of their way to help you catch fish, find the best hike, run the rapids and see the local pictographs. This trip cannot be beat, cannot!!!!  Visited July 2013

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 13, 2014

This was my 7th trip with Helfrich River Outfitters and like all my previous experiences they've always exceeded my expectations. They are a truly amazing family and a wonderful group of guides that cater to your every need. Our trip was organized by a great friend who was getting married riverside and wanted a unique experience to share with his family and friends; he got it. It was a beautiful ceremony over Whisky Creek with Ken Helfrich officiating the exchange of vows. On a side note, the groom had a last minute cancelation of the officiant and asked Ken if he could become ordained and perform the ceremony for him. That goes to show you the extent in which Ken and his crew will go to make your trip a trip of a lifetime. I would highly recommend Helfrich River Outfitters and any of their trips!

Visited September 2013
5 of 5 starsReviewed February 6, 2014 

There are a lot of outfitters that can manage the river, but few, if any, can match the overall experience of a Helfrich trip. Regardless of your experience level, they make you feel inclusive from the very beginning to the last minute on the way home. A memory is the one thing that no one can take from an individual. My wife of 40 years has very high standards when it comes to travel experiences, yet when I mention the possibility of a Helfrich trip, regardless of location, it rises to the top. Easily surpassing Mexico, Hawaii, Europe or Asia, it doesn't matter where we book a trip, but it does matter with whom we travel with. Without going into the details , as that could be a book, I can easily say that a Helfrich river experience is a memory made that is hard to surpass, and one that is easily recalled.

Visited July 2013

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 6, 2014 NEW

I have had many opportunities to fish the McKenzie River with Helfrich River Outfitters. Every experience was filled with great fishing, beautiful scenery and amazing guides. The guides know so much about the river--the history and fishing techniques. They provide a beautiful delicious shore lunch and take every opportunity to stop and take in the majestic scenery on the McKenzie River. The family's history on the river is so interesting and charming. I feel so fortunate to know the Helfrich family and will look forward to another great fishing weekend in June with a group of lady friends--Ladies on the Fly. These adventures are memories of a lifetime! It rejuvenates the soul!!!

Visited June 2013

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 6, 2014 NEW

Wonderful Trip, experienced guides, good fishing, great company. The food was good and the spirits (human and otherwise), couldn't have been better. It is a wonderful way to celebrate Oregon.

Visited September 2013


“We have taken fly fishing trips in various places throughout the world. Our trip down the Middle Fork Maxwells on the Middle Forkof the Salmon River with Helfrich River Outfitters was truly a world-class experience. Each day of the float provided new topography, flora, fauna, as well as action packed fishing for gorgeous native trout. We loved this trip and plan to repeat it next year!” 

Jane and Kameron Maxwell Middle Fork of the Salmon trip 

“I just wanted to thank you again for a fabulous trip. The company, food, sights, feelings and “spirits” were all so perfect. I can’t imagine a better vacation! We are already talking about our next trip with you all!” 

Vicki HowardMiddle Fork of the Salmon 

“Thanks again for such a fun time on the Middle Fork. You guys really do an awesome job – heck you turned an admitted “princess” like me into a “camper”! Thanks again." 

Lisa BurgesMiddle Fork of the Salmon 

“Your confident assertion that I would thoroughly enjoy myself in Idaho was a serious understatement. My wife and I have never enjoyed ourselves more on a trip. It was all I anticipated and hoped it would be, with a lot of unexpected pleasant surprises thrown in. It is always a pleasure to be associated with professionals in any venture, and professional is the best description of Ken and his associates.” 

Emon A Mahony, Jr.Lower Main Salmon fall hunting trip 

“Our raft trip was given rave reviews by everyone who went! You did a great job of cooking, rowing and arranging for sunny days. I just want you to know your hard work and organization, as well as your good humor, were truly appreciated. Thanks so much for your expertise and hospitality.” 

Marcia StoutRogue River rafting trip 
Webb Family on the Middle Fork Salmon in Idaho

“What a wonderful adventure we had with you on the Lower Main! Everything surpassed our 
expectations: the scenery, the fishing, and the food were all top-notch. No one can really appreciate such a special family experience without having it firsthand. You and your crew really know how to keep your guests satisfied and wanting to come back for more.” 

The Urman FamilyLower Main Salmon rafting trip 

"Your staff is excellent and a tribute to Prince, your father and to you. What a legacy with Kelsey next inline. We’re not sure when we’ve been so pampered, had so many thrills, caught so many fish and got such constructive teaching, heard too many stories to remember and ate too much great food. So much friendship and laughter.” 

Gary & Cheryl PlagmannMiddle Fork of the Salmon